CITY OF LAKE WORTH Minutes for Canvassing the General Election Tuesday, May 17, 2016 5:30 P.M. – City Hall Conference Room 3805 Adam Grubb • Lake Worth, Texas

1. Call to Order.

Mayor Walter Bowen called the Canvass meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Roll Call. [Pursuant to Section 67.004(a) of the Election Code, two members constitute a quorum for purposes of canvassing an election.]

Council members present were Mayor Walter Bowen, Ronny Parsley, Pat O. Hill, Gary Stuard, and Mayor Pro-Tem Clint Narmore. Jim Smith, Geoffrey White, and Gene Ferguson were absent.

Staff present were Brett McGuire, City Manager; Debbie Whitley, Assistant City Manager/Director of Finance; Linda Rhodes, City Secretary; and Jimmy Womack, Chief of Police.

3. Approval of Resolution #1006- Canvass the returns of the May 7, 2016 General Election and declaring the Results of said election.

For the record, Linda Rhodes read aloud the results of the election:

For Council Member Place 1: Jim Smith, 67 votes For Council Member Place 3: Michael Lampley, 21 votes Gene Ferguson, 56 votes For Council Member Place 5: Pat O. Hill, 70 votes For Council Member Place 7: Clint (Dewayne) Narmore, 70 votes

Resolution #1006 is being brought forth for approval of the canvassing of the May 7, 2016 Election.

Pat Hill made a motion, seconded by Clint Narmore, to approve Resolution #1006, canvassing the returns of the May 7, 2016 General Election and declaring the results of the election. Motion passed with all present voting in favor and none opposed.

4. Adjournment.

There being no further business, Mayor Walter Bowen closed the Canvass meeting at 5:32 p.m.

APPROVED:

Walter Bowen, Mayor /

ATTEST:

<u>Hinda Chodza</u> Linda Rhodes, TRMC/MMC

City Secretary